Growing Up and Kissing Girls

ZEN AND PI

Based on a true story.

*************

At the end of 8th grade year a new girl came to our school. By lunch time on her first day we all agreed she was the new “prettiest girl” in school. Over the next few months she became something of a legend. She was at a level of cool that most of us could never dream of attaining.

I never spoke to her. I knew I wasn’t cool enough to be her friend but we did travel in the same groups. I liked that, knowing that through friends of friends, we were connected. I did want to talk to her though, and over those months I slowly worked up the courage to try. I decided that after school, when I saw her walking home, I would strike up a conversation.

I looked for her to cut through the field behind the school. She was there, but she was with a boy, the…

View original post 1,199 more words

Leave a Reply

