Quiet Elegance

Le Poisson Nage

IMG_2196

The other night I was one of two Americans at a table full of five people.  The rest were French.  Oui!  The thing I noticed while subtly tracking all of Vincent’s French colleagues’ movements was that the French have a quiet elegance.  This fine selection of French people were not loud or boastful.  They were calm.  They ate half their meals.  They drank one glass of alcohol before dinner.

I can really relate to this quiet elegance.  People often notice my own quiet elegance, especially after I announce in the middle of conversations, “I have a quiet kind of elegance.”

The best part of the evening, pour moi, was when Vincent’s colleague said, “Well, you’re French now.  You’re marrying French.”  I think I tapped Vincent’s leg under the table and then looked at him like, “I came.  I saw.  I conquered.”  I have become French.

IMG_2314It is very…

View original post 871 more words

Leave a Reply

